Draw, rules and past winners of the Central Towns Trophy.

A special thanks to Flanagan Properties, (Tony Flanagan) for their continued sponsorship of this Tournament.

2022 DRAW IS ATTACHED (See Below)

Congratulations to Nenagh Golf Club on winning the Central Towns Trophy 2022 when they defeated Carlow Golf Club in the final. Nenagh’s Captain is Liam Hogan and the Team Manager is Billy Morgan. Well done to all and thank you to all the teams that took part.


The Draw for the 2023 Central Towns Competition will take place early 2023.

Colm Burke, Captain-Elect is the Convenor for the Tournament this year.

email: colmbcolmb@gmail.com


For the first round matches the club on top of the draw play 3 matches at home.

Competition Rules

  1. The tournament shall be organised and run by Tullamore Golf Club and the Trophy, which is perpetual, shall be known as the “Central Towns Trophy”.
  2. A pennant will be presented to the Captain of the winning Club. The Central Towns Trophy shall be presented to the Manager of the winning team.
  3. The competing teams shall consist of five male members, playing singles scratch match play. The (World) Handicap Index (WHS) of team members shall not have been less than eleven point zero (11.0) on 1st January in the year of the tournament. The (WHS) Handicap Index held by a player on 1st January is the operative Handicap Index throughout the Tournament.
  4. All matches must be played to a finish unless an overall result has been reached.
  5. Each round of the tournament shall be played in accordance with the draw made by Tullamore Golf Club. For the first round the Club on top of the draw has three matches at home. For subsequent rounds, the Club whose number appears first on the draw sheet for the particular round being played, will play three (3) matches at home.
  6. No person may play for more than one Club in this tournament in any one season.
  7. All matches must be played on or before the date fixed. The winning club must report the result of the match to Tullamore Golf Club immediately.
  8. For the purposes of the tournament the area shall be divided into zones which will be determined by the organisers.
  9. The final of the tournament shall be played on the Tullamore Golf Course.
  10. The Trophy shall be held by the winning Club for one year and such Club shall be responsible for the safe custody and return to Tullamore Golf Club before the final the following year.
  11. No green fees are chargeable to members of a team for practice, during the seven days prior to the match. It is suggested that one free practice round be made available to the visiting team members.
  12. The decision of the Tullamore Golf Club shall be final on any question arising out of this tournament.
  13. Entrance fee of €100 must be lodged with the tournament organiser, Tullamore Golf Club by 22nd March 2023.
  14. For further information email Colm Burke – colmbcolmb@gmail.com
  15. Golf Ireland Rules apply to this competition

Past Winners:

The Central Towns Trophy was inaugurated by Tullamore Golf Club in 1965 and the first winners were Carlow Golf Club.   It has been a hugely popular competition.  

The following are the winners to date:

2022 – Nenagh
2020/21 -Esker Hills
2019 – Palmerstown House
2018 – Portumna
2017 – New Forest
2016 – Portumna
2015 – Portumna
2014 – Tullamore
2013 – Carlow
2012 – Carlow
2011 – Castle Barna
2010 – Naas
2009 – Cill Dara
2008 – Moate
2007 – Nenagh
2006 – Birr
2005 – Mullingar
2004 – Ballinasloe
2003 – Nenagh
2002 – Edenderry
2001 – Headfort
2000 – Templemore
1999 – Nenagh
1998 – Bodenstown
1997 – Moate
1996 – Portumna
1995 – Cill Dara
1994 – Thurles
1993 – Nenagh
1992 – Ballinasloe
1991 – Ballinasloe
1990 – Nenagh
1989 – Nenagh
1988 – Nenagh
1987 – Portumna
1986 – Thurles
1985 – Carlow
1984 – Abbeyleix
1983 – Loughrea
1982 – Loughrea
1981 – Mullingar
1980 – Nenagh
1979 – The Curragh
1978 – The Curragh
1977 – Carlow
1976 – Thurles
1975 – Thurles
1974 – Carlow
1973 – Carlow
1972 – Thurles
1971 – The Curragh
1970 – Carlow
1969 – Naas
1968 – Thurles
1967 – Birr
1966 – Carlow
1965 – Carlow